Frozen Peanut Butter Puppy Treats

So, for those of you who live outside the great state of Texas, I’m going to fill you in on a little secret.  It’s HOT down here.  Like, damn hot.  While there’s nothing wrong with this if you’re prepared for it (which, despite living here for the past 4 years, always catches me off guard) you can easily beat the heat.  My poor corgi named Hawkeye on the other hand… Well, he’s constantly rocking that cute fur coat of his so he needs a little bit of help.

In an effort to keep my precious puppy both happy and cool, I found this incredibly easy recipe for homemade dog treats.  Ten bucks says you’ll already have everything you need to make this recipe  in your kitchen!  And if I lose that bet, well… The ten bucks you just won will be more than enough to buy all the ingredients.

Frozen Peanut Butter Puppy Treats Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 32 ounces of vanilla yogurt
  • 1 cup of peanut butter
  • Cupcake/Muffin wrappers (not an ingredient obviously, but something you’ll need!)

THAT’S IT FOLKS.

Instructions:

  • Melt the peanut butter in the microwave (about 1.5 minutes)
  • Combine the yogurt and melted peanut butter in a bowl
  • Pour the mixture into cupcake wrappers in a cupcake/muffin tin (I filled the cupcake wrapper almost to the top)
  • Place cupcake/muffin tin in the freezer

There are two main reasons why I absolutely adore this recipe.  Number One: Hello, how easy was that to make?  Number Two: It’s cheap, and the graduate student here really really likes that.  Since there’s a good amount of sugar in these treats, and the recipes makes so many, they last for a long time too!  Since Hawkeye is a smaller dog, I simply put the treat on a plate (if you don’t the treat will leave a nice sticky mess on your floor, learned that the hard way) and after he’s licked away at it for a few minutes I simply stick it back in the freezer.  He loves them after we come back inside from a hot walk in the Dallas sun!  So I encourage you to give your puppy this tasty treat next time they’re overwhelmed by the summer heat!

…sorry about the obnoxious rhyme there at the end… it happened before I could stop it, I promise.  Now, go out and play with your dog!  Because if your pet is anything like mine, they always know just want to do to put a smile on your face.  From my puppy to yours, happy eating!

One thought on “Frozen Peanut Butter Puppy Treats

  1. Pingback: Honey and Peanut Butter Puppy Biscuits | Eating My Feelings

Leave a Reply

