Crab Rangoon and Shrimp Fried Rice

In case you’re wondering if I will ever get tired of cooking Asian food… the answer is no. I love the ingredients. I love the smell of the ingredients. I love the end result.  Cooking Asian food is something Parker and I do best, and it’s one of those things that simply makes me happy. Granted, I do miss Mike the Chinese food delivery guy (it’s been too long, I wonder how he’s doing).

Tangent: With that in mind, comment on this post with a type of food you’d like to see cooked next week! I’m going to try to branch out from Asian food, a big step for me but I know y’all will have my back!

Back to the post: I found these recipes online, and once again, Parker and I did some tweaking.  Let’s start with the crab rangoon. The recipe was for baked crab rangoon since I was trying to keep it a little healthier.  The human garbage disposal I’m dating (it’s a compliment sweetie, I promise) wanted to try deep frying them instead, so we did half baked and half fried.  Surprise surprise, the fried ones tasted better BUT the baked ones were still delicious and obviously much better for you!

Crab Rangoon (recipe from Desktop Cookbook): Makes 14 – Except we did have some of the filling leftover so you can probably make more OR pack more into each rangoon!

Ingredients for Crab Rangoon:

  • 1/8 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/8 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 small green onion
  • 4 oz imitation crab
  • 3 oz cream cheese
  • 14 wonton wrappers

Instructions for Crab Rangoon:

  • Cut up the crab and mix it in with garlic salt, worcestershire sauce, green onion and cream cheese (i would microwave the cream cheese for about 40 seconds to soften)
  • Spoon into wontons.
  • Fold into triangles or try to be fancy and fold them like Parker did (see the pictures below – I don’t know how he managed to make them look so good, he’s crafty like that)
  • Bake at 425 °F for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown.

Now that your date night appetizers are done, here’s the recipe for the Shrimp Fried Rice! I don’t know what was wrong with me, but I struggled with this. It was a long week so we’ll blame it on being tired? Yeah, that will work.  Long story short, my advice to y’all is as follows: Read the directions. Follow the directions. Doesn’t sound that complicated does it?  Well, my ass rode the struggle bus. I added waaaaay too much garlic (and that’s saying something because I LIVE FOR GARLIC) and I forgot to cook the rice ahead of time… I never claimed to be perfect, just that food makes life better!  With those notes in mind, here’s the recipe (from Bon Appetit’s March issue)!

Shrimp Fried Rice: Makes 4 Servings

Ingredients for Shrimp Fried Rice:

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil,  divided
  • 12 ounces peeled deveined small shrimp,  thawed if frozen
  • Kosher salt
  • 8 scallions, whites chopped, greens thinly sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped peeled  ginger
  • 3 cups cold cooked white  rice
  • 2 large eggs, beaten to blend
  • 1/2 cup frozen edamame,  thawed
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 3 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy  sauce
  • 2 tablespoon  rice  vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame  oil

Instructions for Shrimp Fried Rice:

  • Heat 1 tablespoon vegetable oil in a large nonstick skillet  over medium-high heat. Season shrimp with salt and cook, turning once, until  just opaque in the center, about 3 minutes; transfer to a plate.
  • Heat remaining 1 tablespoon vegetable oil in same skillet; add  scallion whites, garlic,  and ginger. Cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 1  minute. Add rice and stir to coat. Cook until rice is crisp, about 2 minutes.  Push rice to one side of skillet; add eggs to other side and cook, stirring and  working into rice mixture, 1 to 2 minutes.
  • Add edamame, peas, soy sauce, vinegar, sesame oil, and cooked  shrimp. Cook, tossing constantly, until shrimp  and vegetables are heated  through,  about 1 minute. Top with scallion greens.

Not only was this Date Night Done Right, it was Friday Night Done Right.  We both had a busy week and so it was nice to skip the whole get-dressed-up-go-out-be-social-drink-and-hurt-later process.  Remember that it’s important to take a night to just relax and do what you want… People tend to get so excited that the weekend is finally here that they forget that while it’s important to have fun, it’s also important to unwind.  Your heart and your head will thank you! We happily ate our homemade Chinese food and binged on Breaking Bad (we’re on Season 2 and shit’s getting real – I highly recommend the show if you don’t watch it!) Anyways, hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and that your next weekend is filled with fun and good food!  Happy eating, y’all.

Related articles

2 thoughts on “Crab Rangoon and Shrimp Fried Rice

  1. I love love love fried rice! I tried to make it this summer but the rice came out mushy 😦
    I like adding garlic butter to give it the Benihana’s taste! If only I had your cooking skills. Great blog, Erin!

    • I’ll be honest, my rice was a bit on the mushy side as well 😦 I wonder what the trick is…? If you try it again and are successful, let me know! And I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog, thanks for the support Natalie! I’m going to add the garlic butter bit to my Tips & Tricks page because I think that’s SUCH a great idea!

Leave a Reply

