Collaboration with Beauty Book: Doritos Taco Salad

It’s finally here – the collaboration with The Beauty Book!!  When we decided to create a joint post, I was incredibly excited right from the get go.  Anne Marie is a remarkably talented make-up artist!  She’s done my make up for several sorority formals and it’s looked flawless every single time.  Y’all should definitely check out her blog for great make-up tips and if you live in the Dallas area give her a call!

So the idea behind this collaboration was to create a great date make up look and a great date meal.  It wasn’t until we were done with it that I realized the following: “Look gorgeous and cook your man a great meal!” …oops, didn’t mean to be so 1950s about the whole thing, but I still think it’s a great idea!  In the back of my brain I still picture someone in an apron saying: “Now ladies, this is how you get yourself a man.”  Parker seems to like the food I make so it can’t be a bad plan: The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, right?

The make-up tutorial by Beauty Book demonstrates how you can still look great for a lunch date, but not wear such heavy makeup normally associated with a date/night-out look.  Here’s the video!  Please ignore how remarkably awkward I look in it, focus on the make-up tricks instead!!

The second half of the video has the recipe for Doritos Taco Salad.  Since my boyfriend lives for Taco Bell’s Doritos Locos Tacos, I figured since this was a date inspired meal, I could make a healthier version of one of his favorite fast-food meals and he LOVED it! Though he pointed out the salad was more expensive than the $1.39 taco – $1.79 if you make it a supreme, whatever that means…

Here’s the recipe for Doritos Taco Salad (I tweaked the recipe from Spice Gals’ blog): Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. shrimp (peeled and deveined)
  • 1 pkg. Fajita Seasoning
  • 1 head of lettuce, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 3 tomatoes diced
  • 2 cups grated cheese
  • 1 bottle Creamy Ranch Dressing
  • 1 bag Nacho Cheese Doritos
  • Sour cream
  • Sliced avocado

Instructions:

  • Cook the shrimp in a pan. Add the taco flavoring packet and water according to the packet directions.
  •  Place out on the table in separate bowls the following:  Chopped lettuce, chopped tomatoes, green onions, grated cheese, sour cream and avocado.
  • Layer the lettuce on top, then taco meat, onions, tomatoes, salad dressing, cheese, sour cream,  and avocados.  You of course can layer it how you like, or you can simply dump everything in a bowl and mix it together!
  • Place some Doritos on the side of the bowl or crush them up into the salad to add crunch

This recipe is incredibly simple, and it took maybe 10-15 minutes to prepare and cook! It’s also not really a labor intensive meal, so you can do your makeup prior to cooking and it won’t sweat off (gross but you know it happens every once and awhile).  I hope y’all enjoyed the dish as well as the make-up tips.  Be sure to check out her site!  Good luck and happy eating!!

4 thoughts on “Collaboration with Beauty Book: Doritos Taco Salad

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to mention that I have really loved surfing
    around your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

  2. Nice post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed!
    Very useful information specifically the ultimate section 🙂 I take care of such info a
    lot. I used to be looking for this certain info for a very lengthy time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  3. Pingback: Lunch-Date Makeup and Cooking

Leave a Reply

