Thrifty Thursday: $2.76 Chicken, Chickpea, and Pesto Salad

Hey team! Okay, first and foremost, I lied. Technically it costs $11.04 to make this salad – however – it feeds 4 PEOPLE: $11.04 divided by 4 people is $2.76. So not a big lie, just a wittle itty bitty white lie, don’t hate me! I just wanted to get your attention because this is one of the best salads I’ve ever made.

For me, this recipe was even cheaper because my friend and little Natalie teamed up to provide the ingredients. She had chicken breasts in her freezer (good tip people: freeze produce if you don’t think you’ll use it right away instead of throwing it away!) and a can of chickpeas in her pantry. I then found a delicious recipe from Martha Stewart that utilized those ingredients, dug through my fridge and found some basil pesto leftover from when I made Pasta with Pesto Alfredo Sauce, and I spent a whopping $1.60 at the grocery store!

Here’s a breakdown of the cost:

  • Chicken Breast (x2): $3.00
  • 1 Ear of Corn: 37 cents
  • 1 Cucumber: 45 cents
  • Celery Bundle: 78 cents
  • 15oz Can of Chickpeas: $2.16
  • 7oz Pesto with Basil: $4.28

I cannot stress enough how easy it is to cook on a budget. Not only did I save money but cooking a meal for both me and Natalie, but I also got to spend a great evening with her catching up on life! AND I ate it at work the next day, saving me the money I would have spent at say Jimmy John’s. This recipe took all of 10 MINUTES to make. No joke, Natalie and I were shocked!! We didn’t think a salad that cost this little, and took so little time to make, could taste so good! …but it did.

Chicken, Chickpea, and Pesto Salad: Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 2 shredded cooked chicken breast halves
  • 1/2 large English cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 2 celery stalks, thinly slice
  • 1 can (15 ounces) chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/3 cup Basil Pesto
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper

Instructions (again, LOOK at how EASY this is!):

  • In a bowl, mix together chicken, cucumber, celery, and chickpeas.
  • Add Basic Basil Pesto.
  • Season with salt and pepper.

Easiest. Salad. Ever.

Cheapest. Salad. Ever.

Need I say more? Happy eating everyone! Remember, if you give one of these recipes a try, I’d love to hear how it went! Send me an email at eatingmyfeelingsblog@gmail.com or tweet me at @EatFeelBlog – Your story could end up on the Success Stories page!!

3 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday: $2.76 Chicken, Chickpea, and Pesto Salad

      • For starters, way too easy to make (if you want to make it complicated, make the pesto from scratch!). It was good, I thought the pesto was a bit heavy when I ate it the same day I made it. However, I really enjoyed the salad the next day. The pesto had a chance to mellow into all the ingredients. If I were to make it again, I would plan on making it the day before eating it!

Leave a Reply

