Perfect Rainy Day Meal: Lemon-Zest Basil Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato Soup

Well there’s no denying it after today… Guys, it’s cold in Dallas. Today was a miserable, rainy, messy, gray, gloomy, cold cold day. Naturally, I didn’t dress the part so I was chilled all day – and the thermostat at work was stuck at a horrifying 69.4 degrees, so there was no relief even indoors. The second I left work, I ran through the rain to my car, cranked up the heat, and picked up my corgi from Doggy Daycare (yes, he is that spoiled). Once I got back to my apartment, I promptly put on my comfy sweatshirt and thick socks and curled up on the couch… And I was very reluctant to leave.

Well… We all know this dilemma. You’re hungry… You’re comfy on the couch… The kitchen is too far away… You don’t want to get up… Like I said, today was one of those days. But then I found the will to get off my couch:¬†Something about a warm, melty grilled cheese sandwich dipped into hot tomato soup just seemed like the perfect solution to this cold, rainy day. And I couldn’t have that unless my ass left the couch.

For the record, I’ve made this recipe 3 or 4 times already because I am completely in love! The grilled cheese doesn’t call for very many ingredients, and I live for the tomato soup made by my grocery store down the street. In other words, we were meant to be together.

Lemon Zest Basil Grill Cheese: Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces (about 1 cup) shredded mozzarella
  • 2 ounces crumbled feta cheese
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh basil
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 8 slices Italian or sourdough bread, sliced from a dense bakery loaf
Instructions
  • Heat the panini press to medium-high heat.
  • Toss together the mozzarella, feta, lemon zest, and basil in a medium-size bowl.
  • For each sandwich: Brush olive oil on two slices of bread to flavor the outside of the sandwich. Flip over one slice and top the other side with a layer of the cheese mixture. Close the sandwich with the other slice of bread, oiled side up.
  • Grill two panini at a time, with the lid closed, until the cheese is melted and the bread is toasted, 4 to 5 minutes.
Shout-out and a HUGE thank you to my friend Natalie for finding this recipe online!! It has quickly become one of my favorites and an easy go-to meal in my apartment. So next time you’re stuck inside on a cold rainy day and can’t seem to warm up… You know what to do. Happy eating everyone!

4 thoughts on “Perfect Rainy Day Meal: Lemon-Zest Basil Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato Soup

  1. Pingback: Low Carb Tomato Soup with Ham and Cheese Sandwich | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

