Baked Spaghetti Squash with Garlic and Butter

Last week I tackled quinoa. This week… spaghetti squash. Once again, I’ve seen this oddly large squash pop up in several recipes online. The recipe that caught my eye in particular was one that talked about spaghetti squash as a healthy alternative to pasta. Now, nothing can replace pasta in my opinion. However… This spaghetti squash with garlic and butter recipe was pretty impressive! I highly encourage you to give this recipe a try if you’re looking for something light, filling, and still delicious during the week to makeup for all the fried food you ate over the weekend (or maybe that was just me…?)

So I go to the grocery store and plop this gigantic thing in my basket and am instantly intimidated. I simply assumed it would be difficult to cook based on its size alone, but boy was I wrong. Ladies and gents, to cook spaghetti squash, follow these instructions:

  1. Preheat oven
  2. Place mammoth squash on a baking sheet
  3. Stab it with a fork a few times
  4. Place in oven
  5. Do something else for an hour
  6. Remove it from the oven
  7. THE END

How easy is that?! The one thing I will warn you though is that this isn’t a recipe you can just whip together (unless you want to microwave the squash…?) because it takes an hour to bake in the oven. But if you plan to make this meal ahead of time, you’ll be good to go! Once the spaghetti squash is cooked, the rest of the dish takes maybe 10 minutes to put together.

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Garlic and Butter: Serves 4 in theory… I ate half of what I made as a meal by itself and it was very filling! Thanks to The Steamy Kitchen for the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 small spaghetti squash (about 3-4 pounds)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1/4 cup finely minced parsley (or basil – I used parsley because I still had some in my fridge, but basil would probably taste just as good!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375F. Pierce squash a few times with sharp paring knife (to let steam escape).
  • Bake spaghetti squash for 60 minutes, or until a paring knife pierces easily through skin with little resistance.
  • Let squash cool for 10 minutes.
  • Cut squash in half, lengthwise. Use a fork to remove and discard the seeds.
  • Continue using fork to scrape the squash to get long strands. If the squash seem difficult to scrape, return the squash to bake for an additional 10 minutes (and yes, you’ll still be picking out random seeds that seemed to hide from you the first time)
  • Heat a large sauté pan with the butter and the garlic over medium-low heat.
  • When garlic becomes fragrant, add parsley, salt and spaghetti squash strands.
  • Toss well, sprinkle in the parmesan cheese and taste to see if you need additional salt
  • The spaghetti squash should have a slight crunch (i.e. not mushy) – but if you like it softer, cover the pan and cook 2 more minutes

I hope you guys are having as much fun trying new recipes as I am! I by no means consider myself a professional chef, but I’m quickly learning that some of these foods aren’t as scary to cook as I thought they were! What foods are you afraid to try cooking at home? Comment below and I’ll try that one next! Y’all know I love a good foodie adventure. I know there are certain dishes I would never think to make at home, but you never know! The dish you feared may turn out to be one of your new favorites. Until next time, happy eating y’all!! And if you loved the spaghetti squash, be sure to check out some of the links below! That one recipe with a creamy avocado sauce definitely caught my attention…

PS: I linked a PDF to the recipe title (right before the ingredients/instructions) so y’all can print it out and eat your feelings at home with ease! What do you think, is that helpful? Let me know!

12 thoughts on “Baked Spaghetti Squash with Garlic and Butter

  1. Pingback: To Keep a Vampire out of your Kitchen… | Night Owl Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash | LauraLovingLife

  3. Have you discovered coconut oil yet? It’s soooo good for you and tastes delicious, not necessarily like coconut but with a hint of nut. I use it instead of butter, and have found you can reduce the amount when it’s coconut oil. I’ve been researching oils lately, but it’s a daunting topic for my kid-centric blog. And then there’s the cost factor… so much to consider :). But I’ll start in on it soon. Yes, I WILL 🙂

  4. I am a huge fan of spaghetti squash. Yours seemed to have baked to perfection. No sign of being too mushy, just the right texture. The butter, garlic and parmesan make it an ultimate meal for ending the day. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

