Lemon Basil Chicken with Roasted Winter Vegetables

I made this dish last week when my good friend Natalie came over to watch NBC’s Sound of Music special with Carrie Underwood. The conclusion? The food was better than the production, hands down. Love Carrie, don’t get me wrong… But Julie Andrews rocked that role and you should have just stayed away.

Snarky comments aside, this was a delicious and simple week day meal! Goes to show how a little bit of prep can go a long way! I’m also slowly falling in love with roasting vegetables. Hear me out, I am a newbie cook after all, so maybe this has idea has been loved by many for centuries and I’m just now catching up. Regardless, this is one of my new favorite side dishes. In fact, my roommate ate the leftover vegetables as a meal all by themselves while she was studying!

Lemon Basil Chicken: Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded thin
  • Juice and zest of one lemon
  • 3 tablespoons fresh basil, divided
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 2 tablespoons of extra-virgin olive oil, divided

Instructions:

  • Start by pounding the 2 chicken breasts thin between pieces of cellophane
  • Add chicken, zest of 1 lemon and the juice of the lemon, 2 tablespoon basil, 2 garlic cloves, 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper to the bag
  • Marinade in refrigerator for up to an hour
  • Add oil olive to medium-high pan
  • Cook chicken for five minutes on each side (or until juices are clear)
  • Serve with remaining basil

Like I said, easy right? I recommend starting the marinade for the chicken before working on the side dish. Maybe it’s the fact that I have mediocre knife skills at best, but it took me a long long time to cut up all the vegetables! That being said, they need a total of 30 minutes in the oven, so don’t start them too late after you put your chicken in the refrigerator marinate because then they may not be done at the same time. If all else fails… just put it back in the microwave! …pretty sure that’s what Natalie and I ended up doing once I realized my potatoes were still rather undercooked…

Roasted Winter Vegetables: Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 12 C of vegetables cut into similar size pieces. Use a combination of hard (root) and softer vegetables (carrots, red, yellow, orange peppers, onion wedges, whole garlic cloves, mushrooms, zucchini, green beans etc.)
  • 3/4 C olive oil
  • 1/8 C Worcestershire sauce plus 1 Tbsp
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp paprika
  • 1 Tbsp garlic salt

Instructions:

  • Cut vegetables into similar size pieces. Keep root vegetables separate from softer vegetables. Mix together olive oil, Worcestershire sauce, paprika and garlic salt. Pour over vegetables.
  • Place root vegetables on cookie sheet and bake at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes or until they begin to soften (aka cook your potatoes first, they’ll take longer!)
  • Add in softer vegetables and turn vegetables on sheet making sure they are all coated in liquid mixture.
  • Bake another 15 minutes or until the veggies are fork tender.

I’d write up a nice happy little summary for this meal, but it’s finals week and I’m hungry. Hope you enjoy the recipe, and have a wonderful week! …I will the moment my finals are done on Saturday… so close! Happy eating, y’all.

Leave a Reply

