Eating My Feelings at NOBU Dallas

Since today is Thursday (it is Thursday right? …been a long week), I wanted to honor the internet fad of #TBT, or Throwback Thursday for people who don’t feel obligated to hashtag every other word when sharing their thoughts with the world. This trend involves posting old pictures of yourself as a toddler or revisiting the good old days. With that in mind, my fellow foodies, I decided to share the most amazing culinary experience of my entire life. And no, that’s not an exaggeration!

Parker and I have been to a couple upscale restaurants and Dallas, and since we always had such an amazing time we decided to try and make it something we do once every month or so (after all, $50+ a plate is a bit steep for broke college kids!). Naturally, we researched Asian restaurants because that’s our absolute favorite type of food, and we quickly stumbled across Nobu Dallas. Nobu has several locations across the world such as London, New York, Hong Kong, Tokyo, and Milan. Nobu Dallas opened in 2005 and the menu features Nobu’s signature new style Japanese dishes. Madonna was quote saying “You can tell how much fun a city is going to be if Nobu has a restaurant in it.” I mean if Madonna likes it… it must be good enough for us!

We walked in and our jaws dropped – the place was absolutely gorgeous! Not surprising given the quality of this place, but considering our last meal was at Torchy’s Tacos in sweatpants… This was a definite upgrade.

We sat down and were greeted by our awesome waiter. It kills me that I don’t remember his name because he was really wonderful, but he told us about the restaurant and how the menu worked. Parker and I were genuinely overwhelmed by all the options – everything sounded so good! Cold dishes, hot dishes, tempura, sushi… we had no idea where to even begin. Then we stumbled across this little section at the bottom of the menu called “Omakase,” which means “from the chef’s heart”. “Omakase” is a 7-course meal consisting of the chef’s favorite dishes and changes depending on the season and the produce they have that night. Since we decided that literally everything on the menu sounded delicious, this was our best option since we didn’t have to make any specific decisions.

…and oh my god, did we make the right choice. The first course was a Toro Tartar with Caviar, and if you’ve never had toro before – it’s the fatty underbelly of tuna –  I highly recommend it! It absolutely melts in your mouth and this dish was one of my top three for the entire evening. The second course consisted of four small dishes. Starting in the right front corner moving clockwise, they were: Aji with esame oil, olive oil, chives, and ginger; Salmon with Jalapeño Sauce; Hawaiaan Prawns; and Baby Japanese Mussels. The aji with sesame oil was the decided victor, and is an example of Nobu’s infamous “New Style” of sashimi, which involves barely searing the fish by pouring a hot sauce on top of it. Read more about it – and find a copycat recipe – here. Absolutely freaking delicious!

Onto the third course! What Parker and I now jokingly refer to as “the haystack course,” this course consisted of White Fish Sashimi with Dry Miso Flakes. Sashimi is one of my favorite things in this world, and they certainly did it well. However, this dish was no match for the fourth course: Alaskan King Crab Tempura with Amazu Ponzu — Ladies and gents, this dish stole the show and was both Parker’s and my favorite dish of the entire evening. We’re both tempura freaks (check out our attempt at homemade tempura here), but this was without a doubt the best tempura I’ve ever tasted.

Four down, four more to go! The fifth course was the hot dish course and it’s as if the gods were on my side because our waiter brought us these absolutely delicious, divine, melt-in-your-mouth, drooling-just-thinking-about-it Lamb Chops with Chimichurri Sauce. Parker learned that night that my love affair with lamb is something that he should maybe feel a little threatened by… I love love love lamb. Ask my parents – I was the strange kid ordering lamb chops over chicken tenders when we’d go out to dinner. It’s not something I eat very often, so boy was I grateful when that plate was put down in front of me. The 6th course was understandably lighter: a Spicy Seafood Soup. It’s the first time I’ve had mushrooms and liked them, no kidding! These chefs must be miracle workers because I do not do mushrooms.

And finally… You can’t go to Nobu without having sushi. The seventh course was a Sushi Platter including Hamachi, Toro, Aji, Unagi, Uni, and a Japanese Omelet. Needless to say, this was some of the best sushi I’ve ever had, no questions asked. The waiter then showed up with the bonus round eighth course… dessert. A Miso Cappuccino, which consists of Milk Chocolate Miso Brulee, Vanilla Ice Cream, Candied Pecans, and Cappuccino Foam… um, yum? I’m not even a coffee person, but there wasn’t a drop of this left by the time I was done with it! 

After an evening filled with laughter and undeniably good food, we casually rolled ourselves out of the restaurant after Parker generously picked up the check (he’s a keeper, folks). While this certainly isn’t an every day dining experience, I’m glad we stepped out of our comfort zones and tried something new and fun! It was definitely worth it. If you’re in the DFW area and interested in trying out Nobu, here’s a link to make a reservation: Nobu Dallas Reservations.

I’d love to hear about your favorite culinary experiences, simply comment below! And if it happened to be a DFW restaurant, I definitely want to check it out! Happy eating everyone, and enjoy your throwback Thursday!

One thought on “Eating My Feelings at NOBU Dallas

Leave a Reply

