No Bake Peanut Butter Energy Bites

I think I finally found a way to settle an argument between 1) My desire to be swimsuit ready come May and 2) My inner fat kid that demands chocolate on a daily basis. I made these delicious energy bites last week thinking they could replace the 100-calorie snack pack of almonds I’ve been bringing to work with me that’s been serving as the “hold-me-over-til-my-next-meal” snack. Yes, these energy bites acted as a perfect snack (I would bring one maybe two to work with me) because they are surprisingly filling. However, the more genius answer is to eat one after a meal as dessert because it has chocolate and peanut butter and they’re really freaking good. Just one little bite is enough to satisfy my sweet tooth, and it’s much better than stopping by a bakery on my way home to pick up some cake balls (don’t judge, I don’t do it that often….)

I stumbled across this recipe on Instagram and it’s actually the easiest thing ever. Throw a bunch of ingredients in a bowl, mix it together, form individual balls, THE END. It’s great. And it really has been a nice alternative to my bland almond snack!

No Bake Peanut Butter Energy Bites: Makes 12 (depends on how big/small you make them)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (dry) oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 scoop of protein powder (optional – makes them a bit more filling!)

Instructions:

  • Add all ingredients into a large mixing bowl
  • Mix well!
  • Roll out into individual balls
  • Store in refrigerator

THE END! That’s it. Like I said, super simple! Really great, filling treat that satisfies that inner fat kid in all of us. SO many people around me are on crazy workout or diet schedules and deprive themselves of their favorite foods. To that I say 1) Balance is important. One chocolate bar won’t make you fat, just like one salad won’t make you skinny. And more importantly, 2) Life’s short, eat the damn cupcake. To those of you who are looking for a healthier snack option that actually tastes good too, I highly recommend these! Happy eating!!

3 thoughts on “No Bake Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

