Rice Bowl with Avocado and Fried Egg

This recipe was a brilliant discovery! I found it on Yahoo — of all places — and I’ve made it 4 times since then. It’s simple, but the flavors are fantastic! There’s a good bite to it that I didn’t expect considering the ingredients are so simple. Needless to say, I’m a big fan!

Be warned, this recipe goes to show that simple ingredients does not guarantee a simple cooking process. I almost smoked out my apartment by trying to cook a fried egg. I encourage y’all to spray the skillet with pam or SOMETHING so that the egg doesn’t stick…  Sigh, have I not learned anything from my hours of watching the Food Network? Here’s a nice little tutorial I probably should have watched prior to attempting this recipe. Also, be careful slicing the avocados. As y’all know, when avocados are ripe they get nice and squishy (look at me with all my technical food lingo). So when you cut them with a knife, you don’t need to push that hard… Yours truly sliced her thumb WIDE open making this dish for a second time. My roommate went into full lifeguard mode and saved the day! …I really can’t handle the site of blood so I’m grateful she was able to swoop in.

Potentially burning my apartment down and personal injury aside… I highly, highly recommend giving this healthy lunch/dinner dish a try!

Rice Bowl with Avocado and Fried Egg: Makes 2 Rice Bowls

Ingredients:

  • 4 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
  • Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • Hot sauce (optional; for serving)

Instructions:

  • Mix scallions, rice, and vinegar in a small bowl; season with salt and pepper.
  • Heat oil in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Crack eggs into skillet; season with salt and pepper and cook until whites are set around the edges, about 1 minute. Flip eggs and cook to desired doneness, about 30 seconds for a runny yolk.
  • Divide rice among bowls; top with eggs, avocado, and hot sauce (optional)

I had been looking for a lunch or dinner recipe to make ahead of time, and this one works really well. Simply make a bigger batch of rice ahead of time, and add the fried egg and avocado when your’e ready to eat — It’s so easy! It was very filling and a new healthy option (I’m so over salads).

On another note, this will be my last blog post for awhile. I’m going to Frances for the Cannes Film Festival for an internship, and then studying abroad in Hong Kong for a month this summer! Which sadly means I won’t have access to a kitchen, but I’ll have many foodie adventures to share with you once I get back! I’ll save up any recipes I make over the summer to send your way in a few months. Thank you to everyone who reads and supports this blog, I really have so much fun with it! So don’t worry, I’ll be back! Happy eating everyone!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Rice Bowl with Avocado and Fried Egg

  1. First, I want to say I’m so jealous of your trip!!! Too jealous!!!

    Second, if you ever want to make your fried eggs in the oven (as a do often) you can check my blog and look for my recipe/tips. I would give you the link to the recipe but I don’t want to be spamming your site, lol.

    Third and last comment, sometimes we would not have the time, or money to make a meat dish so my parents would make something very similar to this for dinner. We always had avocados around (since we had several trees in our backyard in Puerto Rico). We would sometimes have stewed beans as well, because they are always there, lol.

    • Feel free to post the link here — I know me, and probably some other readers, would appreciate the advice!

      And that sounds great. Avocados are my favorite, I can’t believe you grew up with them in your backyard! Now THAT is something I’m jealous of!

  2. I made this with my Dad tonight! We were both getting bored with our meal choices, and he’s a better cook than I am so I let him fry the eggs while I did the rest. We loved it, and will definitely be making it again!

Leave a Reply

