Final Days of Summer: Smoky Buttery Crab Legs

Yesterday was the first day of school for students across the country, which means two things: 1) Summer is over and 2) My mom probably beat me in the summer license game challenge…again. In an effort to make summer last a little bit longer — though it’s 102 degrees in Dallas right now so summer still feels very present — I thought I’d share this recipe my boyfriend and I made this summer while he was interning in LA.

I lived out of a suitcase for roughly two months this summer, and right before that my boyfriend spent the semester studying abroad in Prague. So after 7 months of a super-duper-duper-long distance relationship, my last stop of the summer was on my way back from Hong Kong to visit him in LA, and we had an absolute blast! We had all these grand ideas about site-seeing in LA (I had never been before except to look at colleges my junior year of high school), however, my two continents in under two months exhaustion plus jet lag resulted in all day Netflix binge and lots of homemade meals. That being said, we did manage to check out the Sony Pictures lot (saw the Breaking Bad RV and GEEKED OUT like no other), walked up and down Hollywood Boulevard, and ate at Gordon Ramsay’s restaurant The London at West Hollywood — which was delicious! We also ventured out to an awesome event called “Eat See Hear“. It was held outside the LA zoo on a gorgeous summer night, and ten plus food trucks park outside while you listen to live music, followed by a film screening (we saw Jaws – um, how perfect is that?!). All in all, a fun trip to celebrate the fact that we survived being miles apart for so long.

This was one of the two new recipes we tried during that visit, and it was a fun buttery mess! Eating crab legs always reminds me of this restaurant in Chicago my family and I used to go to when I was a little kid called Shaw’s Crab House. I have memories of crab the size of my face, bowls of butter, and my Dad rocking a gigantic bib. So not only is this dish delicious, it brought back some fun foodie memories from my childhood!

Smoky Buttery Crab Legs: Serves 2
Note: This recipe was originally designed for crab claws, that makes 8 appetizer size portions. We couldn’t find any at the store, so we improvised!

Ingredients:

  • 2 lean smoked bacon slices, chopped
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 pound fresh crab legs
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves

Instructions:

  • Cook bacon in a skillet over medium-high heat until crisp. Remove bacon from pan with a slotted spoon, and discard dripping
  • Melt butter in skillet; stir in garlic and green onions
  • Cook, stirring often, 2 minutes
  • Stir in lemon juice, Worcestershire, and crab legs; cook 2 to 3 minutes or until hot.
  • Stir in parsley and bacon
  • Serve immediately

This was a fun date night recipe for so many reasons, we had a blast cooking this one! And laughing our asses off while trying to eat them because we didn’t have those little tiny forks that makes eating crab so much easier. Words can’t express how happy I am that my eating partner-in-crime is finally back in Dallas with me, so stay tuned for more date night ideas, as well as some more stories of our eating adventures this summer (*cough*Diners Drive-Ins and Dives inspired roadtrip*cough*). Til next time, happy eating! And hang onto the fun of summer as long as you can!

 

2 thoughts on “Final Days of Summer: Smoky Buttery Crab Legs

Leave a Reply

