Citrus Chicken Rice Bowls

So here’s the thing. I really, really like food. And I really, really don’t like working out. As you would imagine, this poses a bit of an issue. Ever since I tore my ACL my senior year in college, I have yet to find a workout routine that I truly enjoy and allows me to eat all the carbs and cookies my little heart desires (which is a lot). I used to do in Insanity which literally kicks your ass left, right, and sideways into shape, but because of all the jumping and lateral movement my knee just laughs and laughs at the thought of doing that again. Because of this I-want-to-eat-everything-in-front-of-me-but-not-look-like-a-beached-whale issue I have, I’m constantly searching for delicious, filling recipes. I refuse to give up good food! And there’s gotta be a way to eat healthy and make it tasty, right?

I tried this recipe out at home this summer with my parents, and not only is it busting with flavor, it’s got all these don’t-feel-guilty-eating-them ingredients. I’m a big citrus fan (though I hate oranges by themselves, weird right?), so this dish hit the spot and was filling too!

Citrus Chicken Rice Bowl: Serves 4

Ingredients:

  •  1/4 cup orange juice
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  •  tablespoons lemon juice
  •  tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  •  teaspoon orange zest
  •  teaspoon salt
  • ⁄2 teaspoon sugar
  • ⁄4 teaspoon black pepper
  •  lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
  •  cups rice, cooked
  • 1 cup carrots, cut into matchsticks
  •  cup sugar snap peas, cut in half
  • 1⁄2 cup scallions, finely chopped

Instructions:

  • In a medium bowl, whisk together orange juice, olive oil, lemon juice, vinegar, orange zest, salt, sugar, and pepper.
  • Place chicken in a zip-top bag and add 3 tablespoons of the citrus dressing. Seal bag and flip a few times to make sure the chicken is fully coated. Marinate in refrigerator for 2-4 hours.
  • Heat grill or grill pan to medium-high heat. Take chicken out of bag and dab any excess marinade on a paper towel. If the chicken is dripping with marinade when it goes on the grill, chances are it will burn. Grill chicken 7- 8 minutes on each side or until chicken reaches 165° F. Remove from grill and slice thinly.
  • In a large bowl, combine rice, carrots, sugar snap peas, and scallions. Add 4 tablespoons of the citrus dressing and gently toss to combine.
  • Serve chicken over rice and drizzle with remaining dressing, if desired.

Super simple, guilt-free, and delicious! If y’all know of any other healthy and easy dinner ideas, feel free to send them my way! I’m a big believer that the best way to look great and feel great is with balance: Workout and eat healthy, but eat the damn cookie every once and awhile. After all, I think food, chocolate in particular, makes you emotionally healthy – and that’s important too! Hope ya’ll had a wonderful Labor Day Weekend!

One thought on “Citrus Chicken Rice Bowls

Leave a Reply

