Bacon on Bacon: Rosemary Balsamic Pork Loin

October is officially here! And even though it’s 90 degrees outside (thanks Dallas), I’m wearing my favorite comfy sweater and you can’t stop me. Fall is one thing I miss the most now that I live in Texas. Literally nothing could beat a crisp fall day, crunching leaves under your feet, and living in sweaters, jeans, and boots like it was your job. Sigh… I guess I just have to wait til “winter” here in Dallas.

To celebrate the beginning of “fall” I’m sharing with you one of my new favorite, and remarkably simple, comfort food dishes. I was trying to be clever and make something with pumpkin buuuuuut with all the work I’ve been doing lately, it completely slipped my mind. So hopefully this is an acceptable substitute! I feel like fall is the perfect time for slow-roasted or baked food — I love it when my entire house takes on a certain smell, which in this case was bacon. And lots of it.

I pitched the recipe to my boyfriend, and at first he wasn’t that excited. Yeah we wanted to make pork, but what was so exciting about Rosemary and Balsamic? I then told him the pork loin is wrapped in bacon. Ah, it was as if I was suddenly speaking his language.

Rosemary Balsamic Pork Loin: Serves 6-8 (shout-out to Little Leopard Book for the amazing recipe!)

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs boneless pork loin
  • 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 6 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2 tbsp steak seasoning
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 6 cloves garlic (crushed)
  • 6 slices bacon

Instructions:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 400°.
  • Brush the pork loin on all sides with the balsamic vinegar and olive oil.
  • Cut six slits in the loin to make a nice little home for the crushed garlic.
  • Use a garlic press to crush one clove of garlic into each slit, then push the crushed garlic well into the pork.
  • After the pork is all garlic-ed up, put the spices together and get ready to rub!
  • Place the steak seasoning, black pepper, 4 sprigs chopped rosemary and 4 sprigs chopped thyme in a small bowl together.
  • Rub the spice mixture on to the loins, making sure to cover both sides evenly.
  • Place 2 sprigs of rosemary and 2 sprigs of thyme on the loin.
  • Wrap the loin in bacon, making sure to wrap up those sprigs of rosemary and thyme.
  • Place in the oven to roast.
  • After 40-45 minutes, place a meat thermometer into the center of the pork.
  • The pork will register at 165° F when ready.

I was shocked and amazed that the pork was perfectly juicy and delicious. I was afraid I would have inherited my mother’s pork curse, no matter what it’s typically undercooked and then the microwave tries to save the day but then it ends up overcooked…  (sorry, Mom, but it’s true!). Maybe this is a recipe I can teach you this time!!

Word of caution — This recipe can be very garlic heavy, and the pieces of crushed garlic inserted into the pork loin is pretty strong when you’re eating it. I ended up scraping my garlic pieces out of the pork loin — after all, it still soaked up the flavor, I just wasn’t planning on fending off vampires later that night so I figured I wouldn’t sacrifice my breath.

Happy fall everyone! And I hope you enjoy this pig-loving comfort dish!

Leave a Reply

