Guy Fieri’s “French Pig Pizza”

I’m doneeee! Shout it from the freaking rooftops, I AM DONE with this semester of graduate school! …well, kind of. I’m still working on my thesis project, but that’s a year long endeavor. And I still have to go to work for the next week. BUT aside from that, I’m finished! And I couldn’t be more relieved. This semester has been insane and I haven’t tried nearly as many new recipes as I would have liked, so I’m planning on spending the next month just cooking and eating and cooking and eating…

So to honor my new found freedom, here’s a throwback to a recipe I made right before classes started back in August. It’s from Guy Fieri’s cookbook, and I’m looking forward to trying out some of his other dishes. In case you don’t remember, that delicious spicy steamed mussels dish that marked my 100th blog post was also from that cookbook! And of that dish didn’t convince you Guy Fieri knows his stuff, check out this recipe for the “French Pig” pizza.

It’s filled with fun ingredients, and it’s absolutely delicious. No surprise, I’m a die-hard Giordano’s deep dish fan when it comes to pizza (I’m a Chicago girl at heart, clearly). So it’s very hard to convince me that any other pizza besides that cheesy goodness I can find on Michigan avenue is worth my attention. This pizza passed my test. It’s a different flavor profile than your traditional pizza, and it was perfect! Easy to make too. I encourage y’all to give it a try.

The French Pig Pizza: Serves 2 (hungry hungry humans)

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1⁄4 pound pancetta, diced
  • 2 cups leek matchsticks (2 by 1⁄4 inch, white and green parts only)
  • 1⁄2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper
  • Salt
  • 1 Granny Smith apple or similar tart, firm apple, peeled and cut into 2 by
  • 1⁄4 inch matchsticks
  • One 10-ounce ball Whole-Wheat Pizza Dough
  • 4 to 5 ounces Brie cheese with rind, cut into 1⁄4 inch slices
  • Balsamic vinegar for drizzling
  • Extra virgin olive oil, for drizzling
  • Note: We added a pesto spread on the base to act as a sauce — so feel free to give that a try!

Instructions:

  •  Place a pizza stone in a cold oven and preheat oven to 500.
  • In a large skillet over medium-high heat, heat the olive oil. Add the pancetta and cook until just crisp. Remove to a paper-towel-lined plate.
  • Remove all but 1 tablespoon of the fat from the skillet and add the leeks.
  • Sprinkle with the pepper and pinch of salt and cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the leeks start to brown (6 to 8 minutes).
  • Add the apples and cook for 5 minutes more, until the apples are golden but not falling apart. Turn off heat.
  • Stretch the dough into a circle. Top with apple and leek mixture, then the Brie.
  • Bake the pizza for 10 to 12 minutes, until the crisp is golden. Sprinkle with pancetta, drizzle with vinegar and extra virgin olive oil, slice and serve.

I go back and forth about what my favorite part of this pizza is… The brie is melty and perfect and it’s my favorite kind of cheese, so tossing that onto a pizza made my taste buds quite happy. But also the sweetness of the apples was truly delicious and something I wouldn’t expect to find on my pizza. Sigh. I’ll let you be the judge! Happy eating everyone!!

2 thoughts on “Guy Fieri’s “French Pig Pizza”

Leave a Reply

