Last Minute Gift Idea: Cranberry Winter Cookies in a Jar

Y’all I just stumbled upon the queen of Mommy Bloggers. The site is called “Cul de Sac Cool” and this mom is on top of her game: Do-It-Yourself (DIY) projects, recipes, ideas of what to do with kids — It’s precious! And also currently a life saver. I wanted to get my friends and professors something for Christmas without breaking the bank, and had seen these “cookie mixes in a jar” posts popping up constantly on Pinterest (of course). After scrolling through a couple different sites, I came across her post entitled “5 DIY Holiday Baked Gifts in a Jar with Free Printable Recipe Tags.”

Words that caught my attention: DIY. Free. Printable.

I thought to myself, there’s no way it could possibly be this easy. I’m happy to report I was wrong! This blogger has made this last-minute gift idea incredibly simple and affordable and I had to share it with y’all!

All this gift requires is the purchase of a mason jar and the dry ingredients for the cookies. You layer the ingredients in the jar, and attach recipe instructions on the back. All the recipient does is add butter, an egg, and maybe one or two other liquid ingredients, mixes it all together, and bakes them! Half the fun of cookies is baking them, right?

In addition, she provides you with a cute recipe tag to print out and stick onto the mason jar. I chose the Cranberry Winter Cookies mixture because I’m a sucker for white chocolate, but I encourage you to click on that post above to see the other mixes she shared: Toffee Blonde Bars, Santa Cookies (M&M cookies), Pumpkin Cranberry Bread, and Chocolate Chip Banana Bread.

Here’s the recipe and downloadable recipe tag for the one I chose!

Cranberry Winter Cookies in a Jar: Makes 18 cookies
Cranberry-Winter-Cookie-Tags-Template

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (nut-free option: 1/2 cup rolled oats, rice crisp cereal or granola)

For the Jar:

  • 1-quart mason jar
  • Printer
  • Card stock
  • Scissors
  • Glue Dots

Instructions:

  • Mix the flour, baking soda and salt together.
  • Layer all the ingredients in a 1-quart mason jar in the order listed.
  • Print FREE DIY Printable PDF file {Cranberry-Winter-Cookie-Tags-Template} on card stock and cut out.
  • Attach recipe tags to front and back of jar with glue dots.
  • Enjoy!

PS: Here’s a trick the original author posted on the blog: Cut off the bottom of a plastic cup to create a funnel! Place the cup into the mason jar and pour in the ingredients. It’ll make your life so much easier and prevent flour from going literally everywhere.

I had so much fun making these! I truly believe it’s a unique, thoughtful, and fun gift that I know I would love to receive. I encourage you to give it a try for the cookie-lover in your family! Or for that one person on your list that you don’t quite know what to get.

I hope y’all have a wonderful holiday season filled with love, family, and of course… good food! Happy eating, and Merry Christmas!

 

4 thoughts on “Last Minute Gift Idea: Cranberry Winter Cookies in a Jar

Leave a Reply

